In my younger days, I was known to haunt the bars and dance halls near my home in the Coastal Bend area of South Texas. It’s not a time of my life that I’m all that proud of, but it was something that I did in the stupidity of my youth. During those times of drinking and raising hell, country music was a big part of that whole environment. It was during those days that I experienced the sounds of Merle Haggard, Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings, and a man that I consider a true icon of country music, Charley Pride.
     Charley is a black man who, against all odds, became one of the top performers of his day – coming from the cotton fields of Mississippi, he defied the racist barrier and went on to be a very successful man and a great American. Recently, National Public Radio interviewed Charley and asked him how it felt to win the “Lifetime Achievement Award” at the Grammys. I hope you will follow the links below and listen to the comments from this humble man. – Bude Lepsi

NPR – Charley Pride is the first African-American country singer to ever perform at the

charleypride
Charley Pride

Grand Ole Opry. In total, he’s sold some 70 million records and recorded dozens of No. 1 hits — and in two weeks, Pride will be presented with a lifetime achievement award at the Grammys. Pretty extraordinary for a man born and raised in Mississippi, the son of a sharecropper. (Follow the link below for the rest of the story)

Source: ‘You Look Like Them And Sound Like Us’: Charley Pride’s Long Journey In Country Music : NPR

